CTFL Clothing, Textiles, Footwear and Leather SETA

“SETA” stands for Sector Education and Training Authority, organisations established by the Honourable Minister of Labour, Membathisi Mdladlana, on 20 March 2000. There are at present 23 SETAs operational in South Africa.

The main function of a SETA is to contribute to the raising of skills, to bring skills to the employed, or those wanting to be employed in their sector. They do this by helping to implement the National Skills Development Strategy and ensuring that people learn skills that are needed by employers and communities. There is no value in training people if they cannot use the skills they have learnt. Training and skills development is not just for young people starting their first jobs though it is important for them too! The skills of people already in jobs must also be enhanced.

Training must be to agreed standards, within the National Qualifications Framework wherever possible. It is no good if someone is trained in one province if their qualifications are not recognised in another. It is not ideal for one employer to increase the skills of his or her staff if another employer does not recognise them. All training, wherever it is provided, should be subject to quality control and where appropriate be compared to the best international standards.

In order to achieve these objectives the Skills Development Act states that the functions and duties of a SETA are to:

Develop a Sector Skills Plan within the framework of the national skills development strategy; Implement the Sector Skills Plan by –
– establishing learnerships;
– approving workplace skills plans
– allocating grants in the prescribed manner to employers, education and training providers and workers;
– monitoring education and training in the sector Promote learnerships by
– identifying workplaces for practical work experience
– supporting the development of learning materials;
– improving the facilitation of learning; and
– assisting in the conclusion of learnership agreements.
Register learnership agreements;

Become accredited by SAQA in order to undertake quality assurance;
Collect and disburse levies in the sector;
Liaise with the National Skills Authority on –
– the national skills development policy;
– the national skills development strategy; and
– its sector skills plan

Submit to the Director General –
– any budgets, reports and financial statements of income and expenditure that it is required to prepare in terms of the Public Finance Management Act; and
– plans and reports on the implementation of its sector skills plan and service level agreement;
Liaise with the employment services of the Department and any education body established under any law regulating education in the Republic to improve information –
– about employment opportunities; and
– between education and training providers and the labour market;

Appoint staff necessary for the performance of its functions
Perform any other duties imposed by the Skills Development Act or the Skills Development Levies Act.


To become the leading sector in skills development in South Africa and thereby create a highly skilled workforce that will contribute to workplace security, increased business viability and employment growth in the country.


The CTFL SETA will develop and enlarge the skills base of all employed within the Clothing, Textiles, Footwear and Leather economic sector through the promotion and implementation of effective learning programmes and skills planning which will advance workplace security and productivity as part of this process.


The CTFL SETA serves four manufacturing sub-sectors, namely, Clothing, Textiles, Footwear and Leather manufacturing companies. Please see a list of other SETAs on the right

The Clothing sector represents companies that manufacture products such as mens-, ladies- and childrenswear, underwear, sportswear, outerwear and millinery items such as hats and caps.

The Textiles sector consists of companies that manufacture textile products through various processes, for example, the spinning of yarn from natural or man made fibres, the weaving/knitting of fabrics from spun yarn, the dyeing and printing of fabrics, the manufacture of textile floor coverings (carpets), the manufacture of flock and felt products and the manufacture of industrial (performance) textiles.

The Footwear and Leather sector comprises of three distinct sub-sectors, namely, tanners and dressers of leather, manufacturers of footwear (from leather or other products) and the manufacturers of general goods and handbags (including luggage/travel goods) from leather or other products.

The members of the CTFL SETA are mainly concentrated in Kwazulu-Natal, Eastern and Western Cape and Gauteng. They are diverse in both their composition and manufacturing processes and vary in size from large manufacturing corporates to medium-sized factories, small family businesses and one man operations. The training needs of the SETA members are therefore wide-ranging and diverse.

This entry was posted in CtflSETA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.